6. Weekend away – Baltimore, Maryland

First weekend leaving NYC. Off to Baltimore to visit my friend Audrey (met her at camp in Maine and went to Auburn with her).

After going to a drinks mixer in New York for the two Mountbatten intakes (my March intake and the previous August intake), two gin and tonics down, off I went on a 3.5 hour bus journey.. 😴

I guarantee you will always meet “interesting” folk at the 42nd Street Port Authority / on Greyhound buses. This journey was no different. The lady who sat next to me asked to borrow my phone. I, being the polite English girl that I am, obviously obliged. Good Samaritan and all. She then proceeded to ring multiple people, including a Canadian number, before going up to the driver and asking him when we were getting to Baltimore and tried to get him to speak to said person on the phone…. Just. Wow.

Anyway. Multiple naps later. Arrived in Baltimore at around 12.15am, picked up by Audrey, straight back to hers (immediately I’m back in ‘navigation role’, nothing changes between us πŸ˜‚). The main thing I noticed when I got out the car at Audrey’s house was just how quiet it was! I didn’t even realise how used to the city noise I was, but that quietness and stillness was amazing.

So it appears I was definitely in need of a good sleep…. woke up at 11am Saturday morning!! Seriously. Having my own room was the biggest novelty. Always the little things ehy πŸ˜‚

Saturday wasn’t the best weather, rained for most of the day… But. That didn’t stop us tourists. We spent the day in Annapolis, the capital of Maryland and home to the United States Naval Academy. Such a cute, small town, by the water. We just wandered around, people watched (mainly the Navy guys in uniform πŸ’πŸΌ), bit of shopping, drinks and lunch. Perfect relaxing day.

I bet it is so nice in the summer!

Saturday night Audrey, Susan (Audrey’s mum) and I went for an early celebratory birthday dinner / drinks at a local place called The Crazy Tuna Bar & Grille. They had a really good band playing country music πŸ™ŒπŸΌ Baltimore is known for its crab, so obviously I had to have a crab cake (which weirdly came with crisps), followed by the most incredible peanut butter pie (/makeshift birthday cake)!!


Sunday begun with taking the doggies, Millie and Mason, for walkies ❀️ The weather was so much nicer today, which obviously meant for multiple photos of the house:Β I managed to acquire a LOAD of work clothes from the Perkins family friend, who was throwing a load out. Some of the clothes are SO expensive *hello cashmere jumpers* πŸ€—

After a spot of shopping at Marshalls πŸ™Š (where I actually spent more money on my sisters than myself, you’re welcome HP/CP), we went to meet Audrey’s sister Bailey and her husband Chris to go to a ‘block party’ (basically like a street party) in Federal Hill, which is where all the young people tend to live / flock to. Such as fun afternoon, with music, food and drinks


Post beverages, straight to the station to get my bus home, getting there literally 1 minute before the bus left! Somehow I managed to wangle a seat, two people had to get off because there wasn’t space.. Oops. But, so began the journey back to NYC.. 🚌

Such a nice, relaxing weekend away ❀️ Although Audrey and I realised we took zero photos of us together πŸ™ˆ = will obviously have to go back!

Definitely planning on spending half my summer there! β˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈ

FJP x

2 thoughts on “6. Weekend away – Baltimore, Maryland

Leave a Reply

